Skip to main content


We run our business responsibly and ethically.

Building Trades Credit Union’s Board of Directors and senior management are committed to acting responsibly, ethically and with the highest standards of integrity to ensure that BTCU’s activities are continually structured and delivered in a manner that allows us to meet the needs of our members.

Board of Directors

Credit Unions are different from other financial institutions because they are not-for-profit cooperatives whose primary goal is to serve their members. Our Board of Directors is also unlike our counterparts who serve on the boards of big banks. Credit Union board members, including those at BTCU, serve as unpaid volunteers.

The seven member Board of Directors that serves BTCU is charged with setting the Credit Union’s policies and maintaining the best interests of its members. They each serve three year, elected terms. Their commitment to the Credit Union and men and women of the building trades drives their service to the membership.
BTCU’s Board of Directors

Tom Reger, Chairman – (Retired) Cement Mason Local 633 JATC
Joe Lane, Recording Secretary – Plumbers Local 15
Rick Gale – Plumbers Local 34 JATC
Dave Schutta – Cement Masons Local 633
Barry Davies – Ironworkers Local 512
Doug Schroeder – Bricklayers & Allied Craftworkers Local 1
Jake Pettit – Pipefitters Local 539

Supervisory Committee

The Supervisory Committee provides oversight of the safety and soundness of the Credit Union through monitoring risks and controls associated with its business objectives, strategies, and plans.

BTCU’s Supervisory Committee 

Mark Pothen, Chairman – Operating Engineers Local 49
Andrew Richmond – Roofers Local 96
Dan Ferguson – IBEW Local 292
Tim House – Plasterers Local 265

Senior Management Team

BTCU’s senior management team is responsible for the overall direction, operations, and performance of BTCU. They are also dedicated to the financial well-being of every member and employee.
BTCU Senior Management Team

Richard Odenthal, President & CEO
Mark Dysthe, Chief Financial Officer
Lori Carbajal, Vice President of Human Resources
Barb Klein, Vice President of Compliance
Kristie McCurdy, Vice President of Stewardship
Jens Nestingen, Vice President of Business Banking 

Annual Reports

Each year, BTCU publishes an annual report and distributes it at our annual membership meeting. It combines reports from the President & CEO, Board Chairman and Supervisory Committee to give you a comprehensive look at our growth and financial strength during the previous year.

To view a report, click on the appropriate link.

2021 Annual Report – NEW

2020 Annual Report

2019 Annual Report 

2018 Annual Report

2017 Annual Report

2016 Annual Report

2015 Annual Report

2014 Annual Report

2013 Annual Report

2012 Annual Report

2011 Annual Report

2010 Annual Report

2009 Annual Report

2008 Annual Report

2007 Annual Report

2006 Annual Report